top of page

Design Response - Climate Change March

Updated: Oct 17, 2019

"I will instead let them know change is coming whether they like it or not."




I detest crowded places but I decided to participate in the march last Friday because I thought it was a good meaningful cause. Also, I really respect what Greta is trying to do out there, mostly because I haven’t seen anybody this intense about a cause and I think it works. I really believe we need more people like her for causes like this. Of course, things won’t change in a day, it’s definitely a long process but she does have a point; adults are stalling and making fake promises. Only talking, no doing. I absolutely loved that it was worldwide and that it brought everyone together; it didn’t matter where you came from or who you were, everyone was marching for the same cause, that practically made me emotional… Seeing this makes you feel like there might be hope and faith in humanity and that it is possible if we work all together. The energy was so strong and it clearly showed, I really enjoyed this kind of spirit. Unfortunately, some aspects were somewhat disappointing to me. I also felt like some were only present to prove that they did something “good”. Some clearly did not go for the right reasons, it wasn’t for the climate issue… Ironically, a lot didn’t realize/didn’t care that they were using unsustainable material during the march, some even threw their posters into garbage cans instead or recycle bins - this shows hypocrisy from our society. I think that including myself, people are still very ignorant about what’s really happening to our earth and it’s sad because we’re the cause. As long as we’re not fully well educated and/or informed about it, it might not work at all.

6 views0 comments
bottom of page