top of page

On Design Principles

Updated: Oct 3, 2019

13-points non-manifesto, Design Justice Principles

So I am reading about these two articles that generally speaking, talks about the same topic; design principles. What I find amazing is that these all come from many artists/designers with similar/distinct backgrounds and they’ve been able to come up with these final points about what/how design should be or an “closest to perfection” idea of it somehow? It’s incredibly amazing to observe this community spirit among all these people that all have unique life and work experiences throughout their journey. Do I consider myself as a Designer? Not entirely, but soon I will be and I will relate to these points 100%. As to where I am now in my career, I’ve learned about design principles in the past as a reminder that I should not undervalue what I do and who I am as a designer in the field. I agree and relate to almost every aspect of it, whether or not documents have been made official or signed (like the one we just read), etc. Everyone has different perspectives and personal experiences and have learned unique life/work experience throughout their lives and while they keep on gaining experience, they’re able to remind each and every one of us, designers/artists, to stand up for ourselves in this field. Who are we and what do we really stand for and how and why should we do it that way? Have a purpose, have your own perspective they say…


Unpopular opinion (?): I still think we deserve so much more credit as designers/artists. A lot of people including clients (mostly clients) undervalue us as individuals and/or designers/artists in this society. Yes, this controversial thought may have occurred in other fields but I am talking about ours, a place where we practicality and aesthetic become one! People feel different ways about different things; it’s all about subjectivity, there will always be controversy in pretty much every unique case we’ll have in the future. What’s the best way to accommodate ourselves? Is this list going to go on and on until we have a design bible? WE MIGHT AS WELL NEED ONE.

6 views0 comments
bottom of page